Mirrored nature #writephoto

The sun peaks between the timber
unsure, hesitant to reveal
itself fully to an insipid world
too often indifferent
to its nourishing warmth.

And still we look to it
to illuminate the beauty too often
unnoticed – the greens shining
with life, brilliant and glistening
in the early morning.

But the pond holds close its treasures,
refusing to admit
the luminous gleam as we are left
to wonder what mysterious riches
lay submerged,
twirling in the dark

secret celebrations beneath the calm – looking
glass turning glamour
upside down
for our benefit. I dare not
provoke ripples.


(c) 2019 by Phillip Knight Scott

Written for this week’s photo writing prompt courtesy of Sue Vincent’s brilliant #writephoto challenge : “mirror”

Photo by Sue Vincent

Also written for the Ragtag Daily Prompt – “insipid”

Published by Phillip Knight Scott

My name is Phillip. I am a Tar Heel born and bred and watch every Yankees game I can. I'm still searching for my own TARDIS. My first novel, "The Alien in the Backseat," is available now! https://amzn.to/3oVCG77

15 thoughts on “Mirrored nature #writephoto

  1. There are whole universes living in ponds. Love the poem and the photo………reminds us of the mysteries under the water, and all around it.

    Like

Leave a comment