Underneath (it abides)

The stone’s back hides shadows
unspotted by sunlight,
a mossy reminder that some memories abide
in the dark for good reason,
threatening to emerge if the river rises
just enough
to knock that weight
just enough
until sunlight dissolves
shadows leaking downstream
at last.


© 2020 | Phillip Knight Scott

Written for the dVerse prompt “The Dude Abides.”

Published by Phillip Knight Scott

My name is Phillip. I am a Tar Heel born and bred and watch every Yankees game I can. I'm still searching for my own TARDIS. My first novel, "The Alien in the Backseat," is available now! https://amzn.to/3oVCG77

28 thoughts on “Underneath (it abides)

  1. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. You are a master at creating such immersing imagery:

    “a mossy reminder that some memories abide
    in the dark for good reason,
    threatening to emerge if the river rises”

    This hit my heart. Very evocative. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed the interplay of shadow and light in your quadrille, Phillip, and love the way you subtly personify the stone by giving it a back, make it seem threatening, and you continue this with those memories ‘threatening to emerge’. I also love the alliteration in ‘mossy reminder that some memories abide’, which caused me to mutter ‘hmmm’.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your touch is as soft as the moss in this ekphrastic – I like the analogy you allude to, the ‘just enough’ repeats and these lines especially
    “until sunlight dissolves
    shadows leaking downstream”

    Like

Leave a comment