Fragrant fragments

I borrow moments from your future
because the past
smells old

sneakers left in the rain while you slept
inside. Slept and slept
until

what has become of you
comes nearer to what has become of me
awake for the first time. I can remember

looking forward
a lighthouse on the beach drawing circles
fussy hermit crabs finding new homes

the smell of salty sea air
seemed far away though it waved to me
I shouldn’t speak of nose hairs

something dances inside me
aromas of tomorrow. Inside now

today’s heartbeat thumps
this banging

growing louder as we get closer
bang bang

stealing from tomorrow only enlarges
the craving

pounding right now
now you’ve become my very blood

the oxygen I pull in my nose

breezy with age

banging


© 2021 | Phillip Knight Scott

Written for dVerse Poetics: Picking up some pieces

Published by Phillip Knight Scott

My name is Phillip. I am a Tar Heel born and bred and watch every Yankees game I can. I'm still searching for my own TARDIS. My first novel, "The Alien in the Backseat," is available now! https://amzn.to/3oVCG77

14 thoughts on “Fragrant fragments

  1. I borrow moments from your future
    because the past
    smells old

    sneakers left in the rain while you slept
    inside. Slept and slept
    until

    what has become of you
    comes nearer to what has become of me
    awake for the first time.

    A stunning opening. I especially love the first line. A sterling poem….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment